Skip to content

English Crumpets

crumpettea

I seem to have gone all nostalgic lately for old English fare, this trip down memory lane I will blame on Nigel Slater since I am currently reading his book ‘Eating For England’. For all those people who grew up in England, love their food and are over thirty, I can dearly recommend this book, Nigel’s ‘tongue in cheek’ homage to English food had me smiling with every turn of the page.

It isn’t a  recipe book but after reading his section on English crumpets I decided that I would search for a recipe and make them for Sunday breakfast. It is an easy pancake style mix which uses yeast as the raising agent, so you do need to plan ahead to allow for the ‘proving’ time. We enjoyed them hot out of the pan soaked in butter!

Ingredients

Makes approximately 12 depending on ring mould size

  • crumpet2-web200g plain flour, sifted
  • ½ tsp salt
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 1 tsp fast-action dried yeast
  • 200ml warm milk
  • 150ml warm water
  • vegetable oil
  • 4 crumpet rings or 7.5cm/3in plain pastry cutters, greased

Method

  1. Place flour and salt into a large bowl and stir in the sugar and yeast making a well in the centre.
  2. Pour in the warm milk and water and beat until combined to give quite a thick batter. Cover bowl with a tea towel.
  3. Leave in a warm place to rise for about an hour, it should double in volume.
  4. Stir to knock out any air and pour into a large jug.
  5. Heat a non-stick frying pan over a very low heat with a drop of oil. Wipe the pan with kitchen paper to remove excess oil.
  6. Sit the greased crumpet rings in the pan and leave to heat up for a couple of minutes.
  7. Pour in enough mixture to fill the rings just over halfway up the sides. Leave to cook until plenty of small holes appear on the surface and the batter has just dried out. This will take about 8-10 minutes.
  8. Remove the rings and turn over the crumpets to cook for a further 2 minutes on the other side.
  9. Rest the first batch of crumpets on a wire rack while continuing to cook the remaining mixture.
14 Comments Post a comment
  1. Randi #

    I’m so happy to see this (via Tastespotting.com). I’ve always wanted to try it. I saw a small crumpet shop in Seattle last summer but we were only there for a few days, so no chance to go 😦

    October 25, 2009
  2. Liz #

    Looks beautiful – love the photo.

    October 25, 2009
  3. Rosie of BooksAndBakes #

    Gorgeous! I guess I take them for granted over here… I’ve heard tell that you can use tuna tins instead of crumpet rings – just take off both ends and wash, having preferably eaten the tuna first!

    Rosie of BooksAndBakes

    October 25, 2009
    • peasepudding #

      What a great idea Rosie using tuna tins and there’s me buying fancy moulds…any excuse for a new purchase! In fact I have to make moulded seafood entrees this week and only have 4 ramekins so I am going to feed everyone tuna and salmon this week to get 4 more mould :o)

      October 25, 2009
  4. I am wishing I could have one of these for breakfast right now.. yum.

    October 25, 2009
  5. I love this. I grew up eating crumpets (introduced by a very good friend), and I have fond memories of crumpets.

    October 25, 2009
  6. breadetbutter #

    Got here from Mowie’s blog, I love your blog already! 🙂

    My mum loves crumpets, and I’m bookmarking this so I can make some for her when I go home next. Thanks for the recipe!

    October 25, 2009
  7. Thanks for commenting on my blog. Your blog reminded me that I used to make crumpets. I need to do that again soon. It goes along with the idea of limiting weird chemicals from the food we eat.

    October 26, 2009
  8. My god, it would never have occurred to me to make crumpets – I’ve been buying them for years! I’m going to give your recipe a whirl, so fingers crossed! Your blog is lovely, too – succinct, informative, crisp & clean in appearance – brilliant! Cheers 🙂

    November 10, 2009
  9. And you’re from “oop north”! Whereabouts? Not Manchester per chance? Some of the best dance music in the world came from the north!

    November 10, 2009
  10. Kel #

    Thank you for this easy,effective recipe. I used some wholegrain bread flour I had on hand and the result was super.
    I recently bought small pie/custard tart foil things,about 2&1/2 ins
    diam. and they are A1 for making crumpets,(give them a spray of course.) $2.50 got me 20…and they can be used over and over.

    May 11, 2011
    • peasepudding #

      I like the idea of using wholemeal flour, I will try that next time I make them.

      May 16, 2011
  11. This looks lovely! I have only had store-bought crumpets, and am very excited to try to make my own. Thank you!

    March 29, 2012
    • peasepudding #

      Thanks for your comment, it made me realise how much I love them an must make them again soon.

      March 29, 2012

Leave a comment