Skip to content

Recap of Sweet New Zealand #2

Thank you to all the bloggers who took part in this months Sweet NZ.
For those who are new to this event, Sweet New Zealand is open to all Kiwi bloggers, blogging here or overseas, and all bloggers residing and blogging in NZ. Entries could be new posts or ‘recycled’ from old posts.

The sumbissions came with a flurry towards the end of the month, like myself posting my Vanilla Bean and Orange Blossom Cake below at the last minute. Each highlighted link will take you to the bloggers recipe and webpage.

I have listed the entries as I have received them. Lucy from The Kitchen Maid was on the ball this month submitting her entry on the 2nd September with Parfait Amour.

Alessandra submitted several post, the first one under her Recipes Only Blog which is a beautiful Rose Turkish Delight. Always one of my favourites but I have never been brave enough to make it.

A very interesting Tumeric Cake posted on her Alessandra Zecchini Blog.

Last but certainly not least, her Vegan Cake posted on her Vegan Blog.

Sasa sumbitted a beautiful Tunisian Orange & Almond Cake, perfect winter flavours I though and one I really would like to try since I am on a bit of a syrup cake crusade at the moment.

These delicious looking Chocolate Orange Prune Cakes were submitted by Zo from Two Spoons. You can see how good they were from the clean bowl!

Always one to bring us something unusual and creative, Emma from My Darling Lemon Thyme posted these incredible Gluten Dairy Free Black Bean Brownies. Wish I could have sampled these, oh well will have to make them myself!

An unusual Brown Bread Ice Cream recipe from Lesley at eatetc-lesley. I like her idea of caramelising the breadcrumbs next time she makes it too for a new variation.

Frances over at Bakeclub submitted snacking sweet treats with Brown Sugar Rosemary Nuts, love the combination of sweet and herbs on this one. I can see myself delving into a jar of these at work and munching all day on them.

Mairi from Toast submitted a Chocolate Caramel Tart taking advantage of the Spring sunshine with a pretty shot of it a garden setting, so nice to have more natural light back.

Sue from Couscous and Conciousness sent a lovely Apricot, White Chocolate and Cashew Nut Slice in, it’s good to have her back on the regular blogging since we no longer have her as a next door neighbour!

And for the last of your winter apples before we move to berry season Christina from Gninwordon sent in her Amazing Apple Pie

And you certainly can’t go wrong if inspired by Nigel Slater which is what Mel from Tree House Kitchen based her recipe of Cake of Honey Cinnamon & Plums on.

Our lovely Kiwi ‘over the ditch’, Barbara from Winos and Foodies is getting us into the summer spirit with a Vanilla Ice Cream recipe. I’m a little jealous too as she has a Thermonix!

Kristina from Plum-Kitchen submitted Afghan Biscuits, does anyone know how these biscuits got their name?

Mika at Millie Mirepoix submitted her yummy Madarin Custard Tarts with Poached Rhubarb. I keep looking at my sad few leave of Rhubarb in our garden and wondering whether it will ever get used to the salt windy conditions out at Muriwai.

Genie From Bunny.Eats.Design submitted a lovely post of with Lemon Sugar Elephant Ears as well as lemon sugar she has made from the crop off her lemon tree. I have to apologies to Genie as I had missed her post on the line up yesterday. Pop across as there are a few amusing posts other than food like Brain Farts and the funny after affects of asparagus.

Last but most certainly not least, Bron squeaked the last submission in with her Pistachio Berry Friands. Something I haven’t made in over a year and a reminder of how much I realy like these little cakes and a new recipe to try from Bron with the pistachio.

So as they say in Disney….’thats all folks’. Hopefully I didn’t miss anyone out, it was an impressive line up and a lot to keep track of! Next months Sweet New Zealand will be hosted by Sue over at Couscous & Consciousness

13 Comments Post a comment
  1. This is great! So many entries, and a few newcomers to the event, and for me to get to discover :-). Great recap Alli, thank you for hosting, and thank you Sue for coming onboard to host next month!

    Ciao
    Alessandra

    September 30, 2011
  2. Bunny Eats Design #

    Hi Alli, did you get my sub? It was the palmiers.

    October 1, 2011
    • peasepudding #

      sorry Genie, I seemed to have missed yours but have now added it.

      October 1, 2011
  3. That is an impressive lineup! Thanks for sharing.

    October 1, 2011
  4. Great round up Alli. Some lovely recipes to try.

    October 1, 2011
  5. Awesome line-up this month! Thanks for hosting Ali xx

    October 1, 2011
  6. Dang I missed this one, to busy with a lot of stuff anyway Ill try to make it on the next. Anyways love to see all of these great Kiwi bloggers and their recipes

    October 2, 2011
  7. Ali #

    Great photos, they are all so appealing. Nice blog 🙂

    October 2, 2011
  8. Wow, what a fantastically sweet line up! I love how there is ice cream, confectionary as well as baked treats, something for everyone. Thanks heaps Alli!
    P.S One little thing, my entry’s link is broken.

    October 2, 2011
  9. Completely missed it…
    But feasting my eyes right now !

    October 2, 2011
  10. Thanks for hosting Alli x

    October 2, 2011
  11. What a great round-up Alli – thanks for hosting. I’m so impressed with all the awesome entries – I want to try every single thing – might have to buy bigger pants!

    I now have a post and link-up open for this month here http://bit.ly/nScpZE

    Sue xo

    October 3, 2011
  12. Great round-up, thanks for hosting! xx

    October 3, 2011

Leave a comment